Report from the 9th Annual Conference of The Telemedicine Society of India, Odisha Chapter (Oditelemedicon 2021)

7 May 2021

The 9th annual conference of The Telemedicine Society of India (TSI), Odisha Chapter (Oditelemedicon 2021) was organized by TSI, Odisha Chapter with support from Indian Medical Association(IMA), Odisha state branch on 11th April 2021. The venue for the conference was Telemedicine Resource Center, SCB MCH, Cuttack. The theme of the conference was “ICT-enabled metamorphosis of Health Care Delivery System”. 91 delegates attended the conference. Dr.B N Mohanty was the chief coordinator. Dr.Srikanta Patnaik and Dr.R N Sahu were the coordinators of the conference. The conference was held over a virtual platform.

The conference was inaugurated by Dr.Datteswar Hota, Dean & Principal, SCB Medical College, Cuttack. Col(Dr)Ashvini Goel, President of TSI and Dr.Nibedita Pani, President, IMA Odisha State Branch were the Guests of Honor. The function was presided over by Dr.M R Patnaik, President of Odisha Chapter.

The invited speakers for the opening session were Col(Dr)Ashvini Goel from New Delhi; Dr.R Kim from Madurai; Dr.Prabhat Chand from Bangalore and Dr.S Sood from Mohali Chandigarh. This was followed by a session on “emerging technologies in health care practice”. The speakers in this session were Dr.Debdoot Sheet from IIT, Kharagpur and Sue Campbell from Australia.

The other speakers in the conference were Dr.S K Mishra from Lucknow; Dr.Bidyut Das from Cuttack; Dr.P K Pradhan from Lucknow, Dr.Meenu Singh from Chandigarh, Dr.B N Mohanty from Cuttack; Dr.Nishu Tyagi from New Delhi; Ms. Bagmisikha Puhan from New Delhi and Dr. Biswajit Mohapatra from Rourkela.

A symposium on “Telemedicine Practice Guidelines-a practical insight” was held convened by Dr.Ashok Das from Pondicherry. The speakers in the symposium were Dr.S K Mishra from Lucknow; Dr.Tiny Nair from Trivandrum; Dr.Kaushik Mishra from Puri and Dr.Das himself.

Finally there was a video session on “implementation of AR/VR technology with virtual dissection” conducted by Cloudatomy, Gurgaon. The chairpersons for different sessions were Dr. P C Mohanty from New Delhi; Dr.N Pani from Cuttack; Dr.Srikanta Patnaik from Bhubaneswar; Dr.Ramnath Mishra from Bhubaneswar; Dr.B B Mishra from Cuttack; Dr.M R Patnaik from Cuttack; Dr.I B Kar from Cuttack; Dr.R N Sahu from Bhubaneswar; Dr.S N Panda from Cuttack; Dr.Sibananda Mohanty from Baripada and Dr.S N Senapati from Cuttack.

The Annual General Body Meeting of The TSI, Odisha Chapter was held on the same day at 12.30pm.The result of the election was declared by Dr.Srikanta Patnaik, president elect-cum-returning officer. The following members were elected as office bearers for the year 2021-2022.

President: Dr. Srikanta Patnaik, Bhubaneswar

Immediate Past-President: Dr.Manoranjan Patnaik,Cuttack President-elect: Dr.Rabi Narayan Sahu, Bhubaneswar

Vice-President: Dr.Ramnath Mishra, Bhubaneswar

Secretary: Dr.Sabyasachi Pattanayak, Cuttack Jt.Secretary-cum-Treasurer: Dr.Sarat Kumar Nayak, Cuttack

Executive Members: Dr.Bijay Kumar Mohapatra, Bhubaneswar

Dr.Priti Das, Bhubaneswar

Mr. Sujan Kumar Mohanty, Bhubaneswar

The newly elected president Dr.Srikanta Patnaik was installed during the valedictory function on 11th April 2021 and all newly elected office bearers assumed office with immediate effect.

Recent posts