This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join Us
News & Press: News

The European declaration on High-Performance Computing

13 February 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Heather Smith
Share |

Several European countries have signed the European declaration on High-Performance Computing (HPC). With their signature, they agree to participate in the joint European and national effort to build and deploy a world-class computing and data infrastructure in Europe.

Map of Europe presenting the 15 signatory countries of the EuroHPC declaration

The EuroHPC Declaration is an agreement in which the signatory countries commit to work together with each other and with the European Commission to acquire, build and deploy an integrated world-class High Performance Computing infrastructure that would rank among the world's top three by 2022-2023. The declaration foresees that such infrastructure will be made available across Europe for scientific communities as well as public and private partners, no matter where supercomputers are located. This integrated EuroHPC infrastructure will upraise Europe's scientific capabilities and industrial competitiveness and will ensure joint procuring and deploying exascale supercomputers accessible from everywhere in Europe and based on competitive European technologies.

Signatory countries

The EuroHPC declaration was launched on 23 March 2017 at the Digital Day in Rome, and was signed by seven Member States: France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal and Spain.

Other countries have since joined the initiative:

Other Member States and countries associated to the Horizon 2020framework programme can join this cooperation at any moment, provided their financial contribution.

EuroHPC Joint Undertaking

By signing the declaration, the above countries marked their intention  to join the EuroHPC Joint Undertaking (JU), which has been proposed by the European Commission on 11 January 2018, when it will be adopted by the Council of the European Union.

The EuroHPC Joint Undertaking (JU) is a legal and funding entity which will enable pooling of the Union's and national resources on High-Performance Computer (HPC).

Article Source: