Accept Cookies?
Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join Us
Board of Directors
Share |

The ECHAlliance board of directors is made up of a strong international team, with members coming from across sectors.

Board members consist of representatives from foundation members and a number of ECHAlliance partners.

The board is responsible for the day to day running of the ECHAlliance and for delivering the ECHAlliance vision.

This includes matters such as governance, finance, strategy, membership, project engagement and events.



Brian O’Connor
Chair, ECHAlliance

Brian O’Connor was born in Belfast, Northern Ireland and has developed his career as a consultant, manager and/or investor in both private and public companies. Brian has worked in the UK, the US and lived in Hong Kong for eleven years. He has gained vast experience as a company director in a variety of industries and professions, and has raised significant sums for companies through both private equity structures and stock exchange listings.


Richard Pengelly
Permanent Secretary, Department of Health (DHSSPS), Northern Ireland

Richard Pengelly was appointed as the Permanent Secretary of the Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety (DHSSPS) on 1st July 2014. Prior to this Richard‘s previous post was as the Permanent Secretary of the Department for Regional Development (DRD).


Bleddyn Rees
Digital Health Expert & Lawyer at Osborne Clarke

Bleddyn is a vastly experienced commercial lawyer with 25 years advising on outsourcings, privatisations, complex contracts and projects. Bleddyn leads the Healthcare practice at International law firm Wragge Lawrence Graham & Co and has unique experience for private sector lawyer having spent 3 and a half years on secondment as the General Counsel of the Commercial Directorate of the UK Department of Health.



Pr. James McLaughlin
OBE, Director, Engineering Research Institute, University of Ulster

Professor James McLaughlin, a physicist, is currently the Director of the Nanotechnology and Advanced Materials Research Institute and Director of NIBEC. His present research interests address nanotechnology and it’s application in areas such as point of care sensors and medical diagnostics. This work has had a strong influence on the University's commercialisation of IP relating to Connected Health companies.


Pr. George Crooks
OBE, Medical Director NHS 24

Professor George Crooks is currently the Medical Director for NHS 24 and Director of the Scottish Centre for Telehealth & Telecare. He is also Medical Director for the Scottish Ambulance Service where he is responsible for the quality, safety and effectiveness of all clinical services and the development of new services in partnership with other NHS organisations.


Dr. Joan Cornet Prat
Director, mHealth Competence Centre, Mobile World Capital

After working as a clinical psychologist in a General Hospital in 1979, Joan Cornet Prat was elected mayor of Manresa. In June of 2004 he was appointed General Secretary of the Department of Health of the Government of the Generalitat de Catalunya. In September 2005 the Government entrusted him to start up the “Bioregió of Catalonia” (Biotechnology) and since January 2007 he has been Executive Chairman of the Ticsalut Foundation.


Pr. Chris Taylor
Associate Vice President, Research - University of Manchester

In 2007 Professor Taylor founded Manchester Informatics, the University of Manchester’s strategic response to the challenges and opportunities of the Digital Revolution, bringing together multidisciplinary teams of academics to address how informatics can contribute to solving global problems. Chris is Chair of UK Institute for Health Informatics UK-IHI, involving over 200 organisations from the NHS, academia and industry.


Dr. Andrew McCormick
Permanent Secretary, Department Enterprise, Trade & Investment, Northern Ireland

Andrew is a board observer at ECHAlliance. Andrew was appointed as the Permanent Secretary of the Department of Enterprise, Trade & Investment (DETI) on 1st July 2014. Prior to this, he was the Permanent Secretary of the Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety from 2005.